Ashes to Ashes

Learn More

Ashes to Ashes

 

Because this material survives physical or chemical operations, industrial transformations or manufacturing, the residue is of lower value. No product can be extracted from it, it cannot claim any interest. Because it is only a remnant, it is simply free to remain there, without disappearing or moving, just good at maintaining itself in the same state. Fabrice Leroux decided to revalue this residue, which is a priori unimportant. Participating in its reappraisal, discovering and investing its material, transmitting its symbolic potential, as many avenues as the artist’s videos and photographs explore in order to convince us of its study, its resonance, its bodily presence. Since the residue remains, let us then focus on it, we seem to be told.

Ashes to Ashes wonders about our relationship to ashes. Residue of the corpse after extinction of the fire, of the body after the fire of life has been extinguished, ashes have no value, except the symbolic evocation of death.

Fabrice Leroux associates this macabre reminder of the precarious nature of existence with the symbol of the eternal return, where the use of ashes in rituals is propitious to various and varied resurrections (placed on the moribund to alternate death and life in Christian monasteries, twin heroes transformed into ashes before resurrecting among the K’iche’ Maya, distributed at the top of a mountain to call for rain among the Muisca of Colombia, etc...) “Without fear or fatality”, it is therefore a question of reactivating the living by ashes, by attributing a positive value to the residue, and thus extracting its dynamic potentials.

The video opens on a floor covered with ashes. In the distance, in the darkness of the abandoned place, a column of light emerges, closer to the murderer than to the window. In the air, the dust, light. Then, standing in front of the light, Cedranna begins her dance. All in spontaneity and freedom, she multiplies the trial and error of matter, the environment, her own body, just as she experiments with various throws of this powdery missile with which her flesh mixes. In her hands, these are grains that flow on the ground, when she does not turn round to meet them. Undoubtedly because for Cedranna, this dance is propitious to play, where she gradually transforms her desires to deal with the performing material , where the propelled ashes suddenly like a weapon, then the next one to an hourglass, or even a dry earth to plough.

A closer look at the montage Ashes to Ashes reveals that Ashes to Ashes is a matter of repetition, of back and forth, where by transversal operations the light moves in the same way as the dancer and the material, where the action is reproduced indefinitely, as if to support the cyclical nature of the elements staged. Fabrice Leroux cultivates the serial image just as Cedranna reactivates its rituals. And when the gesture stops, it is the sequence that is rewound, to bring up the ashes to heaven.

Mathieu Lelièvre
(Art Critic)
http://lelievremathieu-com.webnode.fr/

EN
FR EN

Sélectionner une page

Ashes to Ashes

Critique

Ashes to Ashes

Fabrice Leroux
(3’57’’, 2014)

Parce que cette matière subsiste aux opérations physiques ou chimiques, aux transformations industrielles ou encore après fabrication, le résidu est de moindre valeur. On ne peut en extraire aucun produit, il ne peut prétendre à aucun intérêt. Parce qu’il n’est qu’un reste, il est simplement libre de demeurer là, sans disparaître ni bouger, tout juste bon à se maintenir dans le même état. Ce résidu a priori sans importance, Fabrice Leroux décide de le revaloriser. Participer à sa remise en jeu, découvrir et investir sa matière, transmettre son potentiel symbolique, autant de pistes que les vidéos et photographies de l’artiste explorent dans le but de nous convaincre de son étude, sa résonance, sa présence corporelle. Puisque le résidu subsiste, attardons-nous alors sur lui, semble-t-on nous dire.

Ashes to Ashes s’interroge sur notre rapport à la cendre. Résidu du cadavre après extinction du feu, du corps après que s’y soit éteint le feu de la vie, la cendre n’a pas de valeur, si ce n’est l’évocation symbolique de la mort.

De ce rappel macabre du caractère précaire de l’existence, Fabrice Leroux y associe le symbole de l’éternel retour, où l’usage de la cendre dans les rituels est propice aux résurrections diverses et variées (disposée en croix sur les moribonds pour alterner mort et vie dans les monastères chrétiens, héros jumeaux transformés en cendre avant de ressusciter chez les Maya-Quiché, répartie au sommet d’une montagne pour appeler la pluie chez les Muisca de Colombie, etc…) « Sans peur ni fatalité », il s’agit donc de réactiver le vivant par la cendre, en attribuant au résidu une valeur positive, et d’en extraire par-là les potentiels dynamiques.

La vidéo s’ouvre sur un sol recouvert de cendres. Au loin, dans la pénombre du lieu désaffecté surgit une colonne de lumière, plus proche de la meurtrière que de la fenêtre. Dans l’air, la poussière, légère. Puis, debout face à la lumière, Cedranna commence sa danse. Toute en spontanéité et liberté, elle multiplie les tâtonnements de matière, de l’environnement, de son propre corps, tout comme elle expérimente divers lancers de ce projectile poudreux auquel sa chair se mêle. Entre ses mains, ce sont des grains qui s’écoulent par terre, quand elle ne retourne pas à leur rencontre. Sans doute parce que pour Cedranna, cette danse est propice au jeu, où elle transforme progressivement ses envies de faire avec la matière en performance, où la cendre propulsée s’apparente soudainement à une arme, puis la seconde d’après à un sablier, ou encore une terre sèche à labourer.

A mieux observer le montage, Ashes to Ashes est affaire de répétition, d’allers et retours, où par opérations transversales la lumière se déplace au même titre que la danseuse et la matière, où l’action se reproduit indéfiniment, comme pour appuyer le caractère cyclique des éléments mis en scène. Fabrice Leroux cultive l’image sérielle tout comme Cedranna réactive ses rituels. Et quand le geste cesse, c’est la séquence que l’on rembobine, pour faire remonter au ciel la cendre.

Mathieu Lelièvre
(Critique d’Art)
http://lelievremathieu-com.webnode.fr/